Apple Has Over 4M iPhone 6 Phones On Preorder

Updated on

Last week there were already signs of a sellout of Apple Inc. (NASDAQ:AAPL)’s iPhone 6 Plus, and management confirmed it over the weekend. This morning the statement said preorders for the two new iPhones surpassed the initial supply. As a result, many of those who order now won’t get their iPhones until October. Bloomberg TV is reporting that Apple sold more than 4 million iPhones in the 24 hours after the new models went up for preorder.

Second consecutive record iPhone launch

Last year, Apple sold 9 million new iPhone models over launch weekend, which was nearly double the number of iPhone 5 units sold over launch weekend the year before. This time around, the two new iPhone 6 models were so popular that Apple’s websites and the websites of the company’s retail and carrier partners kept crashing, posing a problem for those trying to buy the handsets as early as possible.

Some analysts are estimating that Apple sold 10 million or more iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus smartphones. They started making their predictions long before the smartphones were even unveiled, saying that the larger screen and pent-up demand will create a huge upgrade cycle.

Also eBay sellers are guessing that some consumers will be so anxious to get their hands on the new smartphones that they will pay more than double of what Apple is charging on its website and in retail stores.

Apple announces more countries

After the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus hits store shelves on Friday, there will also be some units available for walk-in customers at Apple Stores and the company’s retail partners, according to Apple Insider. The first shipments go to the U.S., Canada, the U.K., Germany, France, Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong and Puerto Rico.

This morning 20 more countries will receive iPhone 6 shipments a week after the initial release. That will put iPhone 6 units in the hands of consumers in those countries on Sept. 26, The new list includes the United Arab Emirates, Turkey, Austria, Portugal, Spain, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Isle of Man, Norway, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Russia and Taiwan.

Leave a Comment