Snapchat Uses Emojis To Replace Best Friend Feature

Updated on

Snapchat just rolled out another update that includes an emoji-based system that describes user relationships on the app. According to the press release sent out by Snapchat, there are six emojis that can be assigned to friends, including Gold Heart, Gritted Teeth, Smile, Sunglasses, Smirk and Fire.

A look at the new emojis

The Gold Heart indicates best friends. This emoji appears to people the user sends the most photos to. The Gritted Teeth emoji represents people who frequently send photos to at least two people. The Smile represents friendship; the Sunglasses represent overlapping social circles. This emoji indicates that a user shares many of the same chat buddies as other users.

The Smirking emoji means the person a user is following isn’t reciprocating the love. Last, but certainly not least, the Fire emoji means a strong snap streak between two users. The popular app previously allowed users to visit their profile to see who they communicate with the most. It prompted some to question why some users didn’t show up on their friends list. The app did not blog about the recent update. Instead, it hid a brief instruction manual in the Snap Channel located in the Discover section.

Other Snapchat updates

This new update also includes a few extra features like a Moon icon that enables users to turn low-light mode on and off. Snapchat’s camera system was notoriously bad in low-light situations, so this update is quite an improvement. The other feature reminds users to send photos to friends they haven’t communicated with in a while.

Snapchat is one of the leading apps among young people. It provides a fast and private way for people to connect. It differs from other popular social media websites such as Facebook or Twitter; Snapchat is far more personal. The recent updates should upgrade users’ overall Snapchat experience and take it to a whole new level.

Leave a Comment