Tech Guides

How To Delete Messages On WhatsApp

If you made too many typos in a message or just didn’t like what you sent, WhatsApp’s new update has got you covered. Here’s how to delete messages on WhatsApp.

How To Delete Messages On WhatsApp
antonbe / Pixabay

WhatsApp, one of the most popular messaging apps, rolled out a new update that lets users remove messages they sent to their contacts, similarly to what Viber has been doing for a while. The ability to delete messages has been anticipated for a long time, and WhatsApp has finally complied with users’ requests. There are two different ways to delete messages on WhatsApp, depending on exactly what you’re trying to do.

How to delete messages on WhatsApp just for yourself

WhatsApp’s new feature allows you to delete a sent message just for yourself, while the same message will stay visible to the recipient. Here’s how:

Step 1: Launch WhatsApp and visit the conversation which contains the message you want to delete.

Step 2: Long-press the message; the app will allow you to tap more messages in order to delete them.

Step 3: Tap the trash can on the top of the screen, and then tap “Delete for me” from the pop-up menu. After that, your message will be deleted in your app, but the recipient will still be able to see it.

For everyone

Once you successfully deleted the message for yourself, it will be replaced with the message, “This message was deleted,” in your contact’s chat. If you see that message in your chat on one you didn’t delete, it means that your contact deleted the message for everyone. Here’s how to delete messages for everyone.

Step 1: Launch WhatsApp and go to the conversation which has the message you want to delete.

Step 2: Long-press the message, just like you did in the first step; you can opt to delete more messages at once by tapping them.

Step 3: Tap the trash can at the top of the screen, and then choose to delete for everyone.

Some things are important to keep in mind. You won’t always be able to “delete for everyone,” as this option works only for seven minutes after you sent the message. Even if you deleted the message for everyone, it doesn’t guarantee that your recipient didn’t already see it. Unfortunately, if deleting the message was unsuccessful, you won’t get a notification saying that your message wasn’t successfully deleted.

The update is still rolling out, so at the moment, it isn’t available to everyone yet.