Facebook has reportedly made one big change (though it appears more of a mistake). Some users are reportedly not able to delete stuff they have posted on the platform, according to a report from Indiatoday.intoday.

Facebook for desktop delete option
Simon / Pixabay

Delete option missing for ‘Facebook for Desktop’

It happens to all of us that sometimes we post something by mistake, and then delete it later. Now, users won’t be able to do that. “It is a while ago that a friend posted something on my Facebook wall accidentally and later wanted to delete the post. But to her surprise, she couldn’t. Yes, she could post on my wall, but couldn’t delete it,” the report says.  Even the receiver is unable to delete that post.

For now, the issue appears only with Facebook for Desktop. Facebook’s mobile app and Facebook for mobile web are working fine, meaning the delete option is there.  While all other options are available on Facebook for Desktop like the save link, edit post, change date, etc., the option to delete is missing, the report says.

As of now, there is no information from Facebook about the missing delete option. There are good chances that it is a bug, or the company is testing a new feature. According to VentureBeat, the option to delete, however, can still be accessed from the Activity Log, which lets a user review and manage the content they shared on Facebook. However, this option is not as convenient as the usual delete option that we all are used to using.

Meanwhile, Twitter is going crazy with more and more users reporting the missing delete option. “I will not post on #Facebook anymore because they have removed the ability to delete one’s own posts,” tweeted one user.

WhatsApp users can still view deleted messages

Facebook might have taken the delete option from one platform, but earlier this month, it gave a similar option to another set of users. Facebook-owned WhatsApp introduced a feature recently that allows users to recall messages sent on individual chats and groups.  It was a long-requested feature, and a pretty useful one too.

According to WhatsApp, the messages that are successfully deleted for everyone will be replaced with a message saying “This message was deleted.” Similarly, in a chat, if you ever come across this message, it will mean that the sender deleted this message for all. It must be noted that the delete feature won’t work if the other person is not using the latest WhatsApp version, allowing them to see the message. In addition, users are only allowed to delete messages for everyone up to seven minutes after sending. So, if a sender tries to delete a message after this time limit, he/she will not be able to do so.

However, recent reports claim that the WhatsApp’s delete feature does not work perfectly. A recipient can still view the deleted message, provided he or she knows the trick. “What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system. So, it’s just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted,” says a Spanish Android blog called Android Jefe.