Tech Guides

How To Free Up Space After Windows 10’s November Update

Microsoft released its new first major update to Windows 10 last week. This new update, dubbed the November 10 update or Threshold 2, as Microsoft would call it, comes with performance improvements and also some new features and cosmetic changes. If you are using Windows 10, then these new updates are compulsory, and chances are that you are already running your Windows 10 computer with these updates.

This November update is really big in size and takes a while to download and install. But once the process is done, you can expect a more stable operating system, however, the only problem is that it doesn’t clean up files by itself. Fortunately, there’s an easy way to do a manual clean up, and in this short guide, you will learn exactly how to clean up your Windows 10 after the November update and gain more free space on your hard drive.

How To Free Up Space After Windows 10's November Update

Freeing up space in Windows 10 after the November 10 update

The process is very simple. Go to Start and type “Disk Cleanup.” Launch the Disk Cleanup tool from there, check that your system drive is selected, and select “OK.” This tool will now show you how much space it can save by cleaning your hard drive up. Ignore this for now and click on the “Clean up system files” button. Select your system drive again and click on “OK.”

This tool will calculate your hard disk space savings, but this time it will also display Previous Windows Installations, and the space used for that would be in GBs (15-20 GBs). This size is increased after the November update, which makes it so big. Check this box and also the Temporary Windows installation files, which will save you some more space, and then click “OK” to remove these files.

The exact space you will regain depends on your system. However, you can expect to save a few good GBs, and that’s why freeing up space makes sense. Note that once you follow this procedure, you won’t be able to roll back to your previous version of Windows, as this process will delete those files. So do this only if you are not planning to return to your previous version of Windows.

Get our newsletter and our in-depth investor case studies all for free!