Google I/O 2017: Start Time, Live Streaming, Launch Predictions

Much like Apple’s WWDC, Google I/O is Google’s own developer event, which is usually held over a three day period. During which the company announces how it sees the future evolution of its services and products progressing. Along with this, there are also sessions to help people understand its propositions, and talks held by those familiar with them. In this article, we’re going to share with you how you can watch the event later today, and what goodies can be expected.

Google I/O Start Time, Live Streaming, Launch Predictions

ElisaRiva / Pixabay

Google I/O How To Watch Live Stream

If for whatever reason you can’t attend the event in person today, there’s good news. You don’t have to miss out. Google will be broadcasting a live stream of the event. It starts at the following times around the world:

Start Times: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Tokyo: 2AM (May 18th) / Sydney 3AM (May 18th) / Beijing: 1AM (May 18th) / Berlin 7PM / Moscow: 8PM.

You can watch the Live Stream here.

Launch Predictions

Held and hosted by Google CEO Sundar Pichai, at the Shoreline Amphitheater in Mountain View California. The KeyNote speech, if rumors are correct is not something you should miss. As Pichai is expected to open proceeding with the announcement of Google’s most important and exciting news.

As for what is predicted to be revealed, there isn’t a lot to go on. Many believe, this year’s event will focus more on software and services, and there won’t be too much hardware. However, Google and companies like it often surprise developers, fans, and consumers alike at these type of events. So do not be surprised if, something not mentioned here, is revealed.

As for what we think could make an appearance, here’s a limited breakdown:

Google Assistant and Google Home

With the emergence of super fast processors and increased RAM in smartphones, the push is on to create an AI/personal assistant. One that can order you Pizza, book a table at your favorite restaurant, even play games and conduct searches.

With this in mind, Google continues to work towards providing its own mobile, or other hardware based AI. Along with this comes the further development of Google Assistant and Google Home. They are expected to be part of the focus of Google I/O, and the company hopes it can continue to put pressure on its competitors. In this sector of software development, it is up against the current market leader Amazon, Microsoft with Cortana. And possibly even Apple, if it does announce a Siri speaker soon, as well as other improvements.

Android O (Oreo)

In what seems like an eternal struggle, Google I/O could be the place the company reveals new features for the Mobile OS. Although, not readily available to the public yet, the operating system, is already seen as the best Android ever. And that’s even before its name is officially announced, of course, Android Oreo is the bookies favorite.

Finally, there could be an announcement related to Google’s DayDream Virtual Reality platform, what that will be, we don’t know. Also, it’s possible, Chrome OS may get an update, and some other apps are introduced.

And that’s it for now; you will either have to watch the Google I/O Live Stream or check back to Valuewalk as the event unfolds. Because, as always, we will keep you up to date with all the juicy details.




About the Author

Darren Wall
Darren is a proud father of two and a dedicated mobile technology writer from the UK. He's been writing about all things mobile, wearable, apps and anything else tech related for many years now for various sites all over the world.