On Wednesday, a lunar eclipse will be visible. It will be visible on the east coast just before sunrise and visible on the west coast during the middle of the night. Since it will be a lunar eclipse, you won’t need special glasses to view the wondrous sight. You will be able to stare at the moon or use binoculars for a better view.

The lunar eclipse

The lunar eclipse will appear a coppery red color as it is a blood moon. It will appear red thanks to the sunrises and sunsets that reflect from the surface of moon.However, during the eclipse, it will be completely in Earth’s shadow even though reddish sunlight will still reach the moon.

Stunning Lunar Eclipse Will Be Seen On Wednesday

Slooh.com explains, “The eclipse will only be visible in its entirety from parts of eastern Australia, New Zealand, eastern Asia, most of Japan, the Hawaiian Islands and the western part of North America.”

Eclipse view times

The total eclipse will officially start at 6:25 a.m. Eastern Standard Time, 5:25 a.m. Central Time, 4:25 a.m. Mountain Time, and 3:25 a.m. Pacific Standard Time. It will continue until 7:24 a.m. ET and 4:24 a.m. PT. Sky and Telescope report those who live in Central and Mountain time zones will be able to see the total eclipse high in the night sky prior to sunrise. The publication added, “Easterners will find dawn brightening and the moon sinking low in the west while the eclipse is in progress.”

The moon will also set during the eclipse to the east. Unfortunately, those who live in the northeast may not be able to catch tomorrow’s eclipse thanks to a storm system coming inn from the southwest.

A lunar eclipse only occurs when the sun, Earth, and full moon form a straight line, the full moon then passes through the Earth’s shadow which is also known as the umbra. Those who miss tomorrow’s eclipse will be able to catch the next one on April 4th 2015.

The upcoming eclipse may also highlight the Draconid meteor shower according to CBS Canada. They report the reddish glow could help the annual fall meteor shower shine. Unlike summer’s Perseids shower, the annual fall shower produces less meteors. Royal Astronomical Society of Canada’s executive director J. Randy Attwood believes the upcoming lunar eclipse will provide the perfect time to look for meteors.

The Draconid meteors come from Draco the Dragon constellation which is located in the north to northwest part of the sky.