facebook logo Photo Syncing is a new feature on Facebook that uploads the 20 most recently taken photos from your smartphone to Facebook, automatically. The good thing about this is that your photos are not made public, but they are stored privately in a Photo Sync folder. Think of this as a private cloud storage center offered by Facebook. Users can upload /sync photos up to 2GB.

Many of you might think that sooner or later you are going to upload photos to Facebook anyway and Facebook is just making this process more convenient. Facebook is the largest photo sharing site and many people capture photos from their smartphones and then upload them to Facebook manually. But thanks to this new feature, this process has become just a piece of cake. But not everyone will want to upload their personal photos taken from their smartphone to Facebook. Surely many people are not comfortable with this because of privacy reasons.

If you’ve accidentally enabled Photo Syncing in Facebook, then here’s how you can disable it.

Turn Off Photo Syncing in Android

  1. Open the Facebook app and then tap on the top-left main menu.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Account > App Settings > Sync Photos.
  3. From here, tap on “Don’t sync my photos”.

Turn Off Photo Syncing in iPhone/iPad

  1. Open the Facebook app and go to your timeline
  2. Tap Photos
  3. At the bottom, tap Synced
  4. Tap the gear icon and choose Turn off Photo Sync
  5. Tap on “Don’t sync my photos”

So that’s it. Photos that you have captured on Facebook will remain private, and won’t sync to Facebook anymore.