Instagram recently changed its policy to reflects that photos uploaded to Instagram can be used for third-party advertising, which means that your priceless moments and snapshots can now be sold, without even notifying you. Many Instagram users are not happy with this change in policy. But one thing that you can do is to backup your Instagram photos and then delete your account. Should you stay until January 16, your photos can still be used or sold anytime. If this isn’t what you bargained for, follow the steps outlined below before this deadline.

How to Backup/Download Instagram Photos

Before deleting your Instagram account, you can download all your Instagram photos to your computer. You must have captured some treasured moments that you wouldn’t want  to forget or lose. So use a web app like Instaport to download all your Instagram photos your computer.


To get started, visit Instaport and sign in with your Instagram account. Authorize Instaport to use your account and then decide which photos to download. If you want to download all photos, then select “all my photos” and then hit the “Start Export” button. Wait for some time and voila! Your precious Instagram photos will have been downloaded to your computer, safe and secure. Now, let’s proceed to the next step.

Delete Instagram Account

Deleting your Instagram account is really a piece of cake. Login to your Instagram account, navigate to your profile page by clicking on the menu in the top-right side and click on ‘Edit profile’.


At the bottom right side of the page, you will see a link that says “I’d like to delete my account”. Click on it and write a short sentence on why you are leaving Instagram. That’s all you need to do to delete/de-activate your Instagram account.


Now you can have peace of mind, your photos are safe on your local hard drive where you don’t need to worry about any nagging policy changes. Of course you can then move the photos manually to Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Sugar Sync or any other cloud storage.