Chrome web browser for iOS is released some days back and now it has become one of the most popular app downloaded from the App Store. The popularity of this browser has risen since then. Chrome for mobile is available for two of the most popular platforms – Android and iOS, but for Android, Chrome is only available for devices with Android 4.0 Ice cream Sandwich and above. This means that Chrome can be used only on devices like Samsung Galaxy SIII, HTC One V and the Samsung Galaxy Nexus, which runs on Android 4.0. Like most browsers, Chrome also lets you view and clear your browsing history, but sometimes things can get a little tricky. Let’s learn how to delete/clear history on Chrome for mobile.

Clear Browsing History on Chrome for Android

Chrome for Android doesn’t offer any such option from where you can delete the browsing history. That’s why, just type “chrome:history” in the omnibox (the address bar). This also works on the desktop version for Chrome. This should open your complete browsing history.

If you want to delete a particular website (URL) then tap it to select that URL and then tap on “Remove selected items”. Of course you can select multiple items and then remove them altogether from the history. But if you want to remove/clear your entire history, then tap on “Clear all browsing data”.

Clear Browsing History on Chrome for iOS (iPad, iPod Touch and iPhone)

Typing “chrome:history” in the omnibox won’t work on Chrome for iOS. It should have worked as it works on all other platforms, but strangely this trick doesn’t work on iOS for now. To clear browsing history, open Chrome and tap on menu button next to address bar. You’ll now be able to see various options, just tap on “Settings” and then “Clear browsing data.”

clear history

Finally tap on “Clear browsing history”. You’ll get a prompt asking “Are you sure you want to clear browsing history”. Tap on “Clear” to get rid of your browsing history.
clear chrome history

That’s how you can delete your browsing history in Chrome for iOS and Android platforms.

Bonus tip: If you don’t want your history to be saved, then tap on “New Incognito Tab” from Menu (the small button next to address bar). Browsing history from this tab won’t be saved, which means you don’t need to worry about clearing your history every time.