The 6th Annual 2013 Pershing Square Challenge

Updated on

The Pershing Square Challenge marks the culmination of a three-month competition among roughly forty teams of first- and second-year Columbia Business School Students.

The 6th Annual 2013 Pershing Square Challenge

Bill Ackman, founder and CEO of Pershing Square Capital Management LP, launched the challenge in 2008. The challenge is open to students who are enrolled in Applied Security Analysis.

After an initial round of eliminations, five final teams present at the Pershing Square Finals event, hosted by Bill Ackman. A panel of judges then selects the winning teams, which receive a financial prize from Pershing Square.  In maintaining the original goal of educating students who are ready to take on leadership roles as value investors, students shall decide the amount of the prize that they wish to keep and the amount that they wish to donate to a charitable organization.

Pershing Square Challenge

Watch Columbia Business School MBA students pitch stock ideas to a panel of judges including Bill Ackman, Phil Hilal, John Paulsen, Craig Nerenberg, and many others below.

Competitors: Joe Fleury ’14; John Gallagher ’13; Seth Kirner ’14; Jeremy Colvin ’14; Eric Lai ’14; Akhil Subramanian ’14; Richard Hunt ’14*; Stephen Lieu ’14*; Rahul Raymoulik ’14*; Arjun Bhattacherjee ’13; Rory Ellison ’13; Colin Kennedy ’13; Omar Elangbawy ’13; Ranjan Ramchandani ’13; Andrew Woodruff ’13

Judges: William Ackman, Pershing Square Capital Management; AJ Agarwal, Blackstone Group; Craig Effron, Scoggin Capital Management; Michael Gerstner, MSD Capital; Paul Hilal, Pershing Square Capital Management; Philip Hilal, Kingdon Capital; Alex Klabin, Senator Investment Group LP; Dahlia Loeb, Kensai Asset Management, L.P.; Mick Mcguire, Marcato Capital Management; William (Billy) Rahm, Centerbridge; Whitney Tilson, Kase Capital

H/T Graham And Doddsville

clostvideo platformvideo managementvideo solutionsvideo player

2013 Pershing Square Challenge Winners on CNBC

2013 Pershing Square Challenge winners, Richard Hunt ’14, Stephen Lieu ’14, and Rahul Raymoulik ’14, discuss Hertz on CNBC on May 6, 2013.


Leave a Comment