Direct messages are one of the oldest features of Twitter, and now finally they’re getting a revamp. Soon, you’ll be able to see a new setting option that will allow you to receive direct messages from any of your followers, regardless of whether you’re following that person or not.
Twitter’s direct message update
The Verge spotted this change and as per the screenshot, the Twitter site explains:
Coho Capital 2Q20 Commentary: Podcasts, The New Talk Radio
Coho Capital commentary for the second quarter ended June 30, 2020. Q2 2020 hedge fund letters, conferences and more Dear Partners, Coho Capital returned 46.6% during the first half of the year compared to a loss of 3.1% in the S&P 500. Many of our holdings, such as Netflix, Amazon, and Spotify, were perceived beneficiaries Read More
“Generally, you must follow someone before they have the ability to direct message you. If you check this option, any Twitter user that follows you will be able to send you a DM, regardless of whether you decide to follow them back.”
For many users, this is a welcome change. In the past, whenever users wanted to send a direct message to someone, and if that recipient is not following them back, then it created an awkward situation. Many times users had to send a tweet asking the user to follow their account so that they can send a direct message to that user. For sure this situation was embarrassing as asking someone to follow your account on Twitter is not considered a good idea. It also reveals that you want to have a private conversation.
Brands and businesses also can send direct messages
With this new offering of Twitter, brands and businesses will also be able to send private messages to their followers. For example, businesses will be safely able to communicate with their customers, keeping their details in private, and not revealing the information to anyone. For those who think that this option will create spam and nuisance, they can let this option remain unchecked.
This new feature can be enabled from the main settings page of Twitter.com. This option is slowly rolling out at the moment, and therefore it might be possible that it is not available to every user. We’ll let you know about this feature once it gets enabled for everyone.