Here’s Where Tesla Motors Inc Can Sell Their Cars [MAP]

Updated on

Tesla Motors Inc (NASDAQ:TSLA) electric vehicles sales are restricted to some states in the United States, shows a map from Mojo Motors. The map of the United States has been used to indicate the states where Tesla can be sold legally, and those states are marked in blue. On the other hand, states where Tesla Motors Inc (NASDAQ:TSLA) cannot yet be sold legally are marked in red and “in legislation” states are marked in grey.

Map in red and blue

According to the map, 24 states legally allow sales of Tesla Motors Inc (NASDAQ:TSLA) vehicles. Out of total 50 states, 24 states are shown in blue, including Washington DC, California, New York, Massachusetts and Washington State. However, states like Mississippi and Georgia are also featured in blue which came as a surprise, according to Autoblog Green. The states of Arizona and West Virginia are marked in grey, whereas Ohio and New Jersey were not. Texas is marked with bright red, which is pretty much expected. The map also shows network of supercharger station across the states, but a clearer picture can be obtained from Tesla’s own map.

Max Katsarelas, Mojo Motors’ marketing manager, created the map from an article in the Georgia State University Law Review from 2002. In this article, various dealers franchise laws are explained. Katsarelas told Autoblog Green that the map was updated recently after coming in terms with the fact that now Oregon and Indiana allow Tesla Motors Inc (NASDAQ:TSLA) sales. The electronic car manufacturer is going through legislation fights in some states, which could soon mark more states in blue or even back to red.

Tesla direct sales model

Tesla Motors Inc (NASDAQ:TSLA) uses a direct sales model, which means the company sells vehicle directly to the end customers. Franchise dealers took the model as offensive to their business, vigorously opposing it, and seeking a ban. As a result, many states have banned direct sales.

Tesla cannot follow the direct sales model in Texas, Arizona, Virginia, New Jersey and Maryland. States such as Colorado, New York, Ohio and North Carolina have kept a ceiling on the number of stores Tesla can operate and cars it can sell in a region. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) said that states like Missouri and New Jersey should review their policies that restrict automakers from selling directly to customers.

Leave a Comment