2018 Pershing Square Challenge

2018 Pershing Square Challenge
Image source: YouTube Video Screenshot

First place winners Jade Hu ’19, Asher Jacobs ’19, and Rana Pritanjali ’19 with Bill Ackman at the Pershing Square Challenge on April 18, 2018.

Get The Timeless Reading eBook in PDF

Get the entire 10-part series on Timeless Reading in PDF. Save it to your desktop, read it on your tablet, or email to your colleagues.

Q1 hedge fund letters, conference, scoops etc, Also read Lear Capital: Financial Products You Should Avoid?


Qualivian Investment Partners July 2022 Performance Update

stocks performance 1651757664Qualivian Investment Partners performance update for the month ended July 31, 2022. Q2 2022 hedge fund letters, conferences and more Dear Friends of the Fund, Please find our July 2022 performance report below for your review. Qualivian reached its four year track record in December 2021.  We are actively weighing investment proposals. Starting in November Read More

Video below first an intro on the contest

Each year the Heilbrunn Center presents the Pershing Square [Philanthropic] Challenge which is the culmination of a three-month competition among roughly forty teams of first- and second-year Columbia Business School Students enrolled in the Center's Applied Security Analysis course.

Bill Ackman, founder and CEO of Pershing Square Capital Management L.P., launched the challenge in 2008. The challenge is open to students who are enrolled in Applied Security Analysis.

After an initial round of eliminations, five final teams present at the Pershing Square Finals event, hosted by Bill Ackman. A panel of judges then selects the winning teams, which receive a financial prize from Pershing Square.  In maintaining the original goal of educating students who are ready to take on leadership roles as value investors, students shall decide the amount of the prize that they wish to keep and the amount that they wish to donate to an area of their choosing within Columbia Business School.


11th Annual Pershing Challenge

Date: April 18, 2018

Competitors: Mike Allison '19; Arthur Brousseau '19; Steven Cao '19; Ryan Darrohn '19; Greg Doger de Speville '19; Brad Headley '19; Eric Herzfeld '19; Jade Hu '19*; Asher Jacobs '19*; Winter Li '19; Neethling McGrath '19; Tyler Redd '19; Rana Pritanjali '19*; John White '19; Michael Wooten '19.

Judges: William A. Ackman, Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P.; Sahm Adrangi, Kerrisdale Capital Management; Berna Barshay, Viola Capital Management; Victoria Hart '02, Pinnacle View Capital; Ryan Israel, Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P.; Anthony Massaro, Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P.; Jillian McIntyre, 221B Capital; Paul Sonkin '95, Hummingbird Value; Whitney Tilson, Kase Learning.

2018 Pershing Square Challenge

Updated on

No posts to display