Technology

How To Delete / Remove Snapchat Messages From Your Phone

If you’re an avid user of Snapchat then you probably love that the app allows you to send pictures and text messages that disappear into nothingness once they have been seen. However, sometimes Snapchat doesn’t delete your chat messages quickly enough. If you have a few messages stored on your device and you’re concerned about someone seeing them then you are able to clear your Snapchat conversations without waiting for the app to do the dirty work. Of course, the other option is to not have conversations on Snapchat that you don’t want other people to see but life is meant to be lived on the edge a little bit.

Snapchat Messages
MarcoGonzalez / Pixabay

Luckily, clearing out those Snapchat conversations is quick and easy. Before you start, you should note that this process will only delete those messages off your own device. Snapchat messages are stored on the user’s individual device so there’s nothing saved on a server. This is one of the big appeals of the app but does make it impossible to delete a mistaken sent message off someone else’s device. So, always be sure you actually want to send a message before you hit the send button because once that message is gone; it’s out of your hands.

Here’s down to delete Snapchat conversations off your device:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and tap the little ghost at the top-center of the app.
  2. You’ll see your name and user score – tap the gear icon to open the settings.
  3. Scroll to “Account Actions” and then tap “Clear Conversations.”
  4. All of your messages will be seen with a little “x” next to them. Hit the x and then confirm you actually want to delete the conversation.
  5. Boom! Your message is gone! Remember, this is only on your own device. You cannot delete a message from someone’s device that you sent it to so your only hope is that they find whatever you sent really funny.

As always, be careful with what you send online. If you’re concerned someone might see something then you may not want to send it at all. Even if it is a private app like Snapchat. If you just need the conversation off your own device then the good news is that you can blast your conversations into the wind and forget about them.