Politics

A Half-Million People Demand Disney CEO Leave Trump’s Business Advisory Council

Activists plan rally outside Disney shareholder meeting in Denver; Will Iger side with hate, or with families?

DENVER – Community members and activists will protest outside the Walt Disney Company shareholders meeting in Denver on Wednesday, demanding that Disney CEO Bob Iger step down from Trump’s Business Advisory Council.

A coalition of organizations representing millions of people have come together to hold Disney accountable to families. They have collected petitions with a half-million signatures from throughout the country telling Iger that by teaming up with Trump’s collection of troubling characters, he is also aligning Disney with racism, anti-immigrant policies and endorsing the administration’s Muslim ban.

Walt Disney Co (DIS)

Disney

Disney has entertained generations of families. Now Iger is selling out those families, customers and workers in exchange for big corporate tax breaks. Disney is one of the corporations that would benefit most from Trump’s corporate tax cuts – and families stand to lose the most.

In Denver, Disney shareholders have a chance to join more than a half-million people nationwide and tell Iger to be a prince and walk away from Donald Trump.

Follow the rally: #BadMickey and #QuitTheCouncil  @WaltDisneyCo

Facebook link: http://bit.ly/2lExjaI

What: A rally outside the Disney shareholders meeting in Denver

Why: To demand that CEO Bob Iger leave Trump’s Business Advisory Council.

When: Wednesday, March 8, at 9 a.m.

Where: Sculpture Park, Denver Performing Arts Complex, Champa Street and Speer Boulevard.

Visuals: Disney-themed signs urging Iger to quit Trump’s business council.

Who: The rally and petition gathering are coordinated by these organizations:

Colorado People’s Alliance – Lizeth Chacon, lizeth@coloradopeoplesalliance.org

FRESC: Good Jobs, Strong Communities – Shanta Farrington, sfarrington@fresc.org

Color of Change – Brandi Collins brandi.collins@colorofchange.org

Center for Popular Democracy – Autumn Dunn, adunn@populardemocracy.org

CREDO  – Josh Nelson, jnelson@credoaction.com

Free Press – Mary Alice Crim, mcrim@freepress.net

Greenpeace – Vicky Wyatt, vwyatt@greenpeace.org

People’s Action – Kathy Mulady, k.mulady@peoplesAction

SumOfUs – Nicole Carty, nicole@sumofus.org

UltraViolet – Audine Tayag, audine@weareultraviolet.org

Working Families Party – Joe Dinkin, jdinkin@workingfamilies.org

 #  #  #

People’s Action Institute is a national organization of more than a million people across 30 states working for economic, racial, gender and climate justice – with a goal of reversing the growing economic inequality by building an economy that expands opportunity for low-income families.

Like Us On Facebook - For Business And General News: ValueWalk - For Tech And Science News: ValueWalk Tech - For Tech Insights, Technical Questions and Queries: Follow Our COO, Sheeraz Raza.