Home Technology Google Lists Narendra Modi Under Most Stupid Prime Ministers

Google Lists Narendra Modi Under Most Stupid Prime Ministers

Google search results often reveal entertaining tidbits, but sometimes the results are downright insulting. The search engine recentlylisted Narendra Modi as one of the most stupid Prime Ministers in the world. Modi is the current Prime Minister of India and the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Google apologized for last month’s faux pas involving Narendra Modi

Last month, a similar debacle occurred when an image search for top 10 criminals in India showed photos of Modi. Google apologized for the misunderstanding or confusion people may have felt over the list. A representative for the company released the following statement, “These results trouble us and are not reflective of the opinions of Google. Sometimes, the way images are described on the Internet can yield surprising results to specific queries. We apologize for any confusion or misunderstanding this has caused. We’re continually working to improve our algorithms to prevent unexpected results like this.”

Daily News and Analysis India’s Nirmalya Dutta added the aforementioned results were derived from a photo in a British-based news source and articles including Modi’s statements about politicians with shady backgrounds.

How Google search algorithms operate

There is no word if the search giant will apologize for the most recent faux pas, but the firm will most likely correct the issue. It really isn’t Google’s fault that the search engine featured Modi in some of the search results. The search engine works by using web crawlers to follow links from one page to another. It then sorts out the pages of content and tracks it all on an index. When the user searches, the algorithms search for clues and locate relevant content related to the words within the index using over 200 key factors including website quality, location, and content freshness.

Google’s list of most stupid Prime Ministers also featured images of Great Britain’s David Cameron, former Thailand PM Abhisit Vejjajiva and Australia’s Tony Abbott.