Facebook is a warehouse of memories for users who might want to revisit them again and again. Therefore, to simplify the task, a new feature has been introduced by the social network. The feature enables users to look back at photos and posts from previous calendar years up to the current date.
Facebook creates Timehop-like feature
Facebook’s new feature is called “On This Day,” and it will allow users to take a look back at old posts and photos share by them and also the ones in which they had been tagged.
Q2 Hedge Funds Portable Database Now LIVE!!! Letters, Conferences, Slides And More [UPDATED 7/13 14:48 EST]
Simply click the menu below to perform sorting functions. This page was just created on 7/1/2020 we will be updating it on a very frequent basis over the next three months (usually at LEAST daily), please come back or bookmark the page. As always we REALLY really appreciate legal letters and tips on hedge funds Read More
“You might see past status updates, photos, posts from friends and other things you’ve shared or been tagged in — from one year ago, two years ago, and so on,” said Facebook in a blog post.
Timehop is a third-party service that offers users the privilege of going through posts which are one year old on various social networking platforms that include Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, Flickr, and Instagram. The new Facebook feature can be said to be an advanced version of that.
Many options for users
The content will be visible only to the user until he or she chooses to share it with friends. There is a bookmark named “On This Day” that will help the users find their past moments easily. Also they can search for the phrase or check their News Feed for posts made in the past.
Users have an option of subscribing to notifications when they land on their page. They will be notified by the system whenever memories from the past are available to be looked upon, said Facebook. The user can either share the old memories with friends or delete or edit those as well. However, if the user decides to keep their “On This Day” entry notification limited, then they can turn off the notifications and can only view the days presented on their private On This Day Page.
Facebook has been testing the feature for quite some time now, and both web and the mobile users will be able to make use of it.