There can be a good debate on whether the so called “read receipt” is good or bad, but let’s not argue about that. What should be an ideal thing to do is to offer the option to turn read receipts on and off, but unfortunately, there’s no such option on Facebook.

When you read someone’s message on Facebook, the sender will always know that you have read their message, along with the specific time or the date when you read the message. For some, this might not be a problem, but for others, this can possess a great risk, as now you cannot ignore anyone. Sometimes you might want to let that person assume that you have missed their message, but this “Seen” mark makes it impossible to fake.

fb

Well, the good part starts now. You can disable read receipts on Facebook, and there are two ways to achieve this. Before proceeding forward, you should note that these two methods only work on Desktop and won’t work on mobile.

Two ways to disable Facebook read receipts

Unseen is a Facebook app that will help you read messages on Facebook without the sender knowing that you’ve actually read that message.

unseen Facebook

You just need to authorize this app, and then it will disable read receipts. There’s nothing else you need to do.

Facebook Unseen is yet another way to achieve the same functionality. All you need to do is to just install this Chrome extension, and it will disable read receipts on Facebook. The developer says this extension basically just blocks a single line of code.

fb-unseen

So go ahead, employ any of these methods to stop Facebook from marking messages as read.