Google is about to open doors to a whole new level of spam if you’re using Google+ and Gmail. The search engine company is rolling out a new change in Gmail that makes it possible for any Google+ user to email you, as long as they have added you on Google+. They don’t even need to know your email address, and worst of all, this option is enabled by default.

Now how would you know that this feature is enabled for you? That’s easy; you would get an email from Google with the subject line “Gmail update: Reach more people you know.” In the email, Google has explained how this new feature works and how you can control who can reach you on Gmail.

How it works

The good news is that although any Google+ user can email you, they wouldn’t know your actual email address unless you reply them. Plus, Google+ users who’re not in your circle will be able to email you only once.

If you receive an email from someone outside of your circle, then it would be sent to the Social tab of your Inbox, and if someone from your circles sends you an email, then it will show up in your Primary tab. This is relevant only if you use Gmail’s new Inbox tabs feature.

How to prevent Google+ users from sending an email

So if you want to stop the email madness, from strangers and from your circles, then fortunately, there’s a setting for that in Gmail. Here’s how to configure it:

Step 1: Open Gmail and click on the Gear icon in the top right, and click on Settings.

gmail-settings Google+

Step 2: In the General tab on the Settings page, find the section that says “Email via Google+.”


Step 3: Click on the dropdown menu, and then you can pick one from four choices: Anyone on Google+, Extended Circles, Circles, or No One. Select the setting as per your wish and then scroll down and click on the “Save changes” button.

If you’re not able to see this setting, then Google says that this option is rolling out to all users within the next couple of days. Once rolled out to you, you’ll also get an email with information on this feature and a link to the settings page.

So go ahead and configure this setting before you start receiving email from strangers and unwanted persons.