Google Inc (NASDAQ:GOOG) has begun putting into action a change it made to its terms of service in November. Unless you make a change to your settings, the search giant will use your name and photo as part of a recommendation for apps in the Google Play store.

google logo

How to keep Google from using your info

Probably trying to avoid a problem similar to what happened to Facebook Inc (NASDAQ:FB), Google has placed a check box in the settings for your Google+ which allows you to opt out of your info being used in recommendations. All you have to do is go in and uncheck that box, but you have to find it first.

Just log into your Google+ profile, and then click on Home. You’ll see a menu drop down, and toward the bottom of that menu, there’s a place to click Settings. Scroll down a bit, and you’ll see a heading for Shared Endorsements. Click on Edit underneath that heading and change it from On to Off. A box will pop up asking if you’re sure and suggesting that you shouldn’t do that. But if you don’t want your name and photo used as an endorsement, then that’s what you’ve got to do to keep Google from using them.

Gmail for Android shows images automatically

That update isn’t the only one Google Inc (NASDAQ:GOOG) rolled out today. Gmail for Android also got a feature users have been hoping to see for some time. According to The Next Web, the company updated its Gmail for Android app. The app now makes it possible for images in messages to show up automatically without users having to click the link for Display Images Below. Users can download the new Gmail for Android app from the Google Play store.

The feature has been working on the desktop version of the app for some time. Google Inc (NASDAQ:GOOG) said it would be rolling the feature out to Gmail for Android by early this year, and the company has delivered, right on time.